Being the Dream Guest: Part I

 

Polite guests reward the time and effort of throwing a party, and they are remembered for this.  Indeed, an essential part of projecting the executive image is conducting yourself properly when invited to a restaurant, a reception, or the company picnic.  As your client’s or boss’s guest, you are being evaluated in these environments.  Being a good guest contributes to your success.

            There is no question that guest manners in our society are deteriorating.  Thank-you notes are virtually unheard of.  Guests arrive late and provide little help in the kitchen.  Granted, societal trends may account for more casual atmospheres when it comes to entertaining; yet this cannot excuse plain bad manners.  Guests have responsibilities too, for the success of any party depends on them.

            Here are some tips on how to be the dream guest:

  • When you are invited to lunch or dinner, remember that it is not your responsibility to pick up the check.  It is common for a woman to invite a professional colleague to lunch.  If it truly is an invitation, let her pick up the check.
  • When a client, associate, or your boss invites you to dinner, give your response within 24 hours.  If something comes up and you have to cancel, place the call yourself.  Don’t let the secretary or leave a voice mail.
  • Confirm an appointment, whether it’s for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.  Call the day ahead if it’s for a breakfast meeting.
  • It is important, whether you’ve been invited to a restaurant, home or ballroom, that you arrive on time.  Ten minutes late is considered rude.  If you know you’re going to be late, call to change the time if possible, or call the restaurant to have your host notified.
  • If you happen to beat your host to the restaurant, wait in the lobby of entry hall until he or she arrives.  If you notice that the restaurant if filling up quickly, you can ask the restaurant host to seat you and to have the rest of the party directed there as they arrive.
  • If your host is at least 15 minutes overdue, call his or her office.  Wait for your host for about 40 minutes; if she still hasn’t shown up, either tip the waiter five to ten dollars or have something to eat.
  • When there are more than two people in the party, don’t sit down immediately when you’ve been led to your table; wait for the host to direct you. 
  • When in a large party, observe what other people are ordering.  If they haven’t ordered an appetizer or side salad, don’t be the only one.  And don’t order the most expensive item on the menu simply because it’s the most expensive.
  • When there are just two of you at a restaurant, it’s polite to wait until both have been served before eating.  If there is a long delay, then the one who has not been served should urge the other to start eating.
  • At a dinner where spouses or partners are present, remember to talk about other subjects than business.
  • If someone tells a good joke or you’re having a great time, it’s okay to laugh; just keep the noise level down so it doesn’t interfere with others.
  • Don’t “table hop.”
  • If you must make or receive a phone call, excuse yourself and go to a phone away from the table.  Keep your conversation short.
  • Don’t get drunk!  If you have had too much to drink, however, allow someone who is sober to drive you home.  Furthermore, if you get outright drunk, don’t become loud, obnoxious, or embarrassing at the party.  It’s time for you to “call it a night” or regret you every came.
  • After the event, party or get together, write a thank you note.  This gesture is extremely important whether the party was a social or business one.  This will truly ensure that you are considered the dream guest and foster great relationships in the future.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About vseitz

Marketing Professor at California State University, San Bernardino and author of "I Don't Wear A Suit."

72 responses to “Being the Dream Guest: Part I”

  1. google advertising tools says :

    I got this site from my friend who informed me regarding this web site and now
    this time I am browsing this site and reading very informative articles
    at this place.

  2. dentest Wake Forest NC says :

    Hello would you mind letting me know which webhost
    you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely
    different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a
    lot quicker then most. Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Cheers, I appreciate it!

  3. heating and cooling systems prices Memphis TN says :

    You actually make it seem really easy together with your presentation but I in finding this topic to be actually
    one thing that I feel I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and extremely large for me.
    I am taking a look forward for your next submit, I will try to get
    the hang of it!

  4. Tummy Tuck Toronto says :

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your
    website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create
    your theme? Excellent work!

  5. executive coach san antonio tx says :

    Heya are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to
    the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set
    up my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your
    own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  6. driveway contractor allentown pa says :

    Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links
    or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My site goes over a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel
    we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel
    free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Fantastic blog by the way!

  7. video de calculadora de ovulacion says :

    Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums
    that go over the same topics? Many thanks!

  8. heating air conditioning unit Raleigh NC says :

    I’ve learn some excellent stuff here. Definitely
    worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how
    a lot attempt you put to make this kind of magnificent informative site.

  9. bond insurance says :

    I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet visitors, its really really fastidious piece of writing on building up new webpage.

  10. look what i found says :

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to
    read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will
    certainly comeback.

  11. Pest Control Directory Barrie says :

    I go to see day-to-day some blogs and blogs to read articles or reviews, but this web site offers quality
    based content.

  12. dental implant for sleep apnea Elk Grove says :

    Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I wish to say
    that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do it!
    Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, very nice post.

  13. Kelsey says :

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your web site.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog readers have complained about my website not
    operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.

    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

  14. Braun Silk Epil says :

    What’s up to every one, the contents existing at tbis
    web site are in fact awesome for people experience, well, keep up
    thee nice work fellows.

  15. ip telephone service providers New York City says :

    Excellent web site. Plenty of helpful information here.
    I’m sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thanks for your effort!

  16. phones for small business New York City says :

    Your style is really unique compared to other people
    I have read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity,
    Guess I’ll just bookmark this site.

  17. dui lawyers Bell shape Gardens says :

    We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s
    to be precisely what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome web log!

    • vseitz says :

      If you would like to contribute a piece to my blog and receive a byline for it you may submit it for review to my email at drtorie@gmail.com. If appropriate I will post it on the blog site. You are welcome to market your contribution to draw people to the site to read your work as well. Thank you for your interest in my site and I look forward to your reply.

  18. Pest Control Inspection Kitchener ON says :

    You ought to take part in a contest for one of the best blogs online.
    I’m going to highly recommend this web site!

  19. Rat Pest Control Halifax NS says :

    I blog often and I seriously thank you for your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I subscribed to your RSS feed too.

  20. find out more says :

    Hi friends, how is everything, and what you wish for to say about
    this post, in my view its genuinely awesome for
    me.

  21. wendy stevens youtube says :

    I just couldn’t leave your website prior to suggesting that I
    extremely loved the usual info a person provide in your visitors?
    Is going to be again often to inspect new posts

  22. best exercise to lose weight says :

    Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll
    just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any tips for rookie blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  23. day trading how to get started says :

    Hi! I know this is kind of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog such as yours take a large amount of work?
    I’m completely new to running a blog however I do write
    in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and feelings online.

    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new
    aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  24. healthy diets plans for women says :

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful
    information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  25. Md Chiropractic Association says :

    That is a very good tip especially to those fresh to
    the blogosphere. Simple but very precise info… Many thanks for sharing
    this one. A must read article!

  26. click this over here now says :

    It’s an amazing post in support of all the online people; they will obtain benefit from it I am sure.

  27. do pheromone colognes work says :

    Thanks for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting
    for your next write ups thank you once again.

  28. scoliosis and chiropractic care Beverly Hills says :

    I think this is one of the such a lot important info
    for me. And i’m glad studying your article. But should commentary on some common things, The website taste is great, the
    articles is truly excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  29. veneers teeth Elk Grove says :

    What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web site, and post
    is in fact fruitful for me, keep up posting these types of articles.

  30. dental implantation Elk Grove says :

    Great article. I’m dealing with many of these issues as well..

  31. Alissa says :

    You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation however I find
    this matter to be really one thing which I believe I’d by no means understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely large for me. I am taking a look
    ahead on your subsequent post, I will try to get the hold of it!

  32. Sherryl says :

    Aw, this was a really good post. Taking a few minutes and actual
    effort to make a superb article… but what can I say… I hesitate
    a lot and never manage to get anything done.

  33. best type of life insurance says :

    Hello to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one
    is getting more from this web page, and your views are good in favor of new users.

  34. property management companies in south bay los angeles says :

    I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re utilizing?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest site
    and I would like to find something more risk-free.
    Do you have any solutions?

  35. reviews on the venus factor says :

    This is really interesting, You are an excessively professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look ahead to in search of more of your
    excellent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your
    web site in my social networks

  36. Network marketing tipsnetwork marketing toolsnetwork marketing trainingnetwork marketing booknetwork marketing success tipsnetwork marketing strategiesmlm success tipsnetwork marketing todaynetwork marketing information says :

    Thank you for every other excellent article. Where else could anyone get that type of
    information in such an ideal approach of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I’m at the search for such information.

  37. public adjuster new jerseypublic adjuster njpublic adjuster in new jerseypublic adjuster in njpublic adjuster experts in new jerseypublic adjuster experts in nj says :

    I like the helpful information you supply to your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and test again right here
    regularly. I am reasonably sure I will be told plenty of new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  38. public adjuster new jerseypublic adjuster njpublic adjuster in new jerseypublic adjuster in njpublic adjuster experts in new jerseypublic adjuster experts in nj says :

    That is very fascinating, You’re an excessively professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and sit up for looking for
    more of your wonderful post. Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my
    social networks

  39. the venus factor works says :

    Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  40. top hosted pbx providers New York City says :

    This information is worth everyone’s attention. Where can I find out more?

  41. electronic cigarettes for sale south africa says :

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed
    reading it, you can be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back down the road.
    I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have a nice day!

  42. carpet stain cleaner California says :

    This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am genuinely happy to read everthing at single place.

  43. hosted voip phone systems New York City says :

    I really like what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to my personal blogroll.

  44. vm-esport.de says :

    Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this
    website, and article is truly fruitful designed for me, keep up
    posting these posts.

  45. PC repair Florida says :

    Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  46. Top Earner says :

    Great information. Lucky me I found your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have saved it for later!

  47. sell your house fast says :

    Hey there are using WordPress for your blog platform?

    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started
    and set up my own. Do you require any coding knowledge to make your
    own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  48. tow truck service says :

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website.
    I really hope to see the same high-grade blog posts from
    you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get
    my own website now 😉

  49. side effects stevia says :

    Normally I don’t read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and do so!
    Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, quite great post.

  50. pumpkin long island says :

    What’s up to every , for the reason that I am genuinely keen of
    reading this web site’s post to be updated daily. It contains
    pleasant material.

  51. syreeta.lambert says :

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

  52. karatok theme says :

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I genuinely
    enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and
    may come back later in life. I want to encourage you to definitely
    continue your great work, have a nice weekend!

  53. st cloud mn tow truck service says :

    What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered
    It absolutely helpful and it has aided me
    out loads. I hope to contribute & help different users like its aided me.
    Good job.

  54. m lm m lm says :

    Exceptional post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more.

    Thanks!

  55. world poverty organizations says :

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get
    in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing
    to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  56. Alycia says :

    Hiya very cool blog!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark yor blpg and take the feeds also?
    I’m glad tto find numerous helpful information right here within the publish,
    we need develop extra techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  57. Dell says :

    Howdy would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet
    browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can yyou suggest a good hosting procider at a
    reasonable price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

    • vseitz says :

      I am unfamiliar with hosting companies; however, many factors affect download speeds such as the internet and how much there is to download.

Leave a Reply

