Check for Quality and Save Money for Back-to-School!

As we approach Back-to-School buying season, spending money on clothing for your children should not be wasteful.  Your kids will want certain brands yet be vigilant, no matter the name on the label be sure to check for quality.  Most clothing is made in an overseas factory with very little over sight.  Fabrics are not checked for color transfer and seams are not finished.  Moreover, buttons have very little thread attaching them to the outfit and stripes do not match up at the seams.  Here are some other tips in making your dollar go further when buying your children’s back-to-school wardrobe.

  • Check for proper labeling:  In addition to the brand name, the law states that there should be a label attached to the garment that identifies the fiber content and the care of the garment.  This information will help you in picking clothing that have easy care properties.
  • Do the plaids and stripes match?  It takes more fabric to line up the stripes and plaids at the sides, back, front and shoulders.  This is your indication of a better made garment.
  • Interfacings should lie smoothly:  If the interfacing is too stiff or is pulling away from the placket of a shirt or waistband of a skirt – walk away.
  • Check for flaws and stains:  Some fabrics by their very nature have flaws and this is noted in the labeling.  However, if there are rust or any other stains – walk away – you can’t get it out and it shouldn’t be your job to try.
  • Is the top and bottom of the outfit the same color?  Fabrics absorb color differently even if its the same fabric on another bolt.  Some of the finest brands of suits have been guilty of the top and bottom being slightly different shades of the same color as a result of irregularity in color absorbtion.  When a suit or two piece outfit seem a bit different – you are probably right and need to walk away.
  • Will the seams ravel apart after the first washing?  Most seams are not finish today.   Clothing termed as fast fashion, often found at H&M and Forever 21 are that – fast and not meant to last.  Check the seams to see if they are finished at all, this will allow them to last a least a few washings.
  • Do the seams pucker:  Usually if the seams are puckering it was sewn with the tension too tight on the machine.  You cannot fix it so walk away.
  • Check buttons for secure attachment:  Since there is very little thread attaching the button to the garment make sure that additional ones are provided.
  • Do your pockets tell all? Does the fashion fabric go far enough into the pocket not to reveal the lining?  Better check and see.
  • Check the inside as well as the outside:  With the limited dollars available to purchase clothing for back to school, make every dollar count and check for quality before you buy.  You will be glad you did!
Tags: , , , ,

About vseitz

Marketing Professor at California State University, San Bernardino and author of "I Don't Wear A Suit."

30 responses to “Check for Quality and Save Money for Back-to-School!”

  1. animewaffles.Tv says :

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This paragraph posted at this web site is really pleasant.

  2. Class 4 Vs Class 10 Sd Card says :

    This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost
    moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and
    more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  3. Frigidaire Convection oven says :

    What’s up colleagues, how is all, and what you want to say on the topic
    of this paragraph, in my view its truly amazing for me.

  4. best polish for cars in india says :

    May I just say what a relief to uncover someone that truly understands what they are talking about over
    the internet. You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and
    make it important. More people really need to read this and understand
    this side of the story. I can’t believe you are not more popular given that you certainly have the gift.

  5. Http://Www.Youtube.Com/ says :

    Thank you, I’ve recently been searching for info about this subject for a
    long time and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon till now.

    But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you positive about the source?

  6. www.youtube.com says :

    I think this is among the most significant information for me.

    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few
    general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really great
    : D. Good job, cheers

    • go fabric cutter says :

      Hi there, after reading this remarkable post
      i am too happy to share my familiarity here with friends.

    • ez canopy says :

      This design is steller! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.
      Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job.
      I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
      Too cool!

    • www.youtube.com says :

      You actually make it appear so easy together with your
      presentation however I to find this topic to be actually one thing
      that I feel I might never understand. It kind of feels
      too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward
      for your next publish, I will try to get the hang of it!

    • 20x20 Tent top says :

      Thanks for finally talking about >Check for Quality and Save Money for Back-to-School!
      | I Don’t Wear A Suit <Liked it!

  7. Belt grinder For sale says :

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding
    more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this info for
    my mission.

  8. youtube.com says :

    I believe that is among the so much important info for me.
    And i am happy reading your article. But want to observation on few general issues, The website taste is wonderful, the articles is truly excellent : D.
    Just right activity, cheers

  9. canon camera battery says :

    This is a good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Simple but very accurate info… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

  10. panasonic camera batteries prices says :

    I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this kind
    of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site.

    Reading this information So i am glad to exhibit that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed.
    I so much indubitably will make certain to do not overlook this web site and
    provides it a look on a constant basis.

  11. Baby bath sponge Cushion says :

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch
    break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast
    your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyways, superb blog!

  12. http://youtube.com/ says :

    I always spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles daily along
    with a cup of coffee.

  13. ariens mowers pictures says :

    Hi there to every one, it’s really a pleasant for me to pay a quick visit
    this website, it contains priceless Information.

  14. Http://youtube.com says :

    You could definitely see your expertise in the work
    you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to
    say how they believe. All the time go after your heart.

  15. portable water filter pitcher says :

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say
    that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope
    you write again very soon!

  16. youtube.com says :

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and
    wished to say that I’ve truly loved surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing in your feed and I hope you write once more very soon!

  17. buy kayaks in oklahoma city says :

    Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content.

    Please let me know. Many thanks

  18. Www.Youtube.Com says :

    Very good article. I’m dealing with a few
    of these issues as well..

  19. Gene D. Robair says :

    Hi! I’ve been following your blog for some time now
    and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you
    a shout out from Humble Texas! Just wanted to mention keep
    up the great work!

  20. ab benches good says :

    Howdy! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading through your posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics?
    Thanks for your time!

Leave a Reply

